Sailing Nakamal

I really miss my kitchen

Before - using blue tape to mark the new island

Before – using blue tape to mark the new island

Our Tucson house was built in 1969 and we moved into it in 1994. In the fall of 2010 I convinced the Captain to put up with the inconvenience and let me pull money out of my personal savings to remodel the kitchen. Actually, it was the outdoor wood-fired pizza oven that that convinced him, but I was the one who worked it into the budget.

After

After

It took several years of longing, a couple years of seriously considering, nearly a year of actual planning and deciding, a couple hundred Facebook posts and only one minor melt-down (and that wasn’t even the day they delivered a toilet seat instead of a faucet), but when it was done I was in love.

We both traveled for our work, and when I was away I used to dream about that one tiny fleck of green in the granite. We would talk every day, but I was picturing him standing at the dual-fuel stove, whipping up his dinner. When I got back from my trips, no matter how late the hour, walking through the door from the garage into the kitchen would make me smile. Because as much as I love the man, when I was away, I really missed that kitchen.

One day that winter I said to John “Aren’t you happy with the new kitchen? Aren’t you glad we did this?” I’ll never forget his response:

“If it were up to me, I would have spent the money on a boat.”

Well, shoot. I guess he’s serious about this boat thing.

KitchenNow

Kitchen now – and I couldn’t be happier

This entry was published on July 12, 2015 at 12:02 am and is filed under Tucson and San Diego. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “I really miss my kitchen

  1. Pingback: #boatliving | Sailing Nakamal

Leave a Reply

